Information-Centric Networking Research Group (ICNRG)

This is the Wiki for the IRTF ICN Research Group (ICNRG).

ICNRG Administrative Information

Contact ICNRG chairs

Börje Ohlman, Dirk Kutscher, Dave Oran

ICNRG Documents and Presentation Material


Informational RFCs

  • RFC 7476 Information-Centric Networking: Baseline Scenarios (was draft-irtf-icnrg-scenarios)
    • A document that defines reference baseline scenarios to enable performance comparisons between different approaches.
  • RFC 7927 Information-Centric Networking (ICN) Research Challenges (was draft-icnrg-challenges)
    • This document describes current research challenges in ICN, including naming, security, routing, system scalability, mobility management, wireless networking, transport services, in-network caching, and network management.
  • RFC 7933 Adaptive Video Streaming over ICN (was draft-irtf-icrng-videostreaming)
    • A document that describes key issues of video streaming in ICN and considers how the current video streaming should be modified in an ICN architecture.
  • RFC 7945 "Information-Centric Networking: Evaluation and Security Considerations" (was draft-irtf-icnrg-evaluation-methodology)
    • This document presents a number of considerations regarding evaluating Information-Centric Networking (ICN) and sheds some light on the impact of ICN on network security. It also surveys the evaluation tools currently available to researchers in the ICN area and provides suggestions regarding methodology and metrics.

In RFC Editor Queue

  • None at the moment.

ICNRG current work items

ICNRG discussion items / Potential future work items

  • ICN Routing here we list research issues related to ICN routing and related research papers.

Other ICNRG documents

For complete list, see


Running Code

ICNRG Design Teams and Side meeting materials

CCNx-TWG Side meetings

Upcoming ICNRG events

ICNRG Interim meeting London, UK, Sunday March 18, 2018

UCL are kindly hosting the meeting facilities

Cisco are kindly providing refreshments for the breaks

Interim meeting Agenda

9:00 Meeting starts

  • Welcome, Agenda Bashing, Minutes taker, Bluesheets, Status - Chairs (10 min)
  • Hybrid ICN (hICN) - Luca Muscariello (25 min + questions)
  • Map-Me: Managing Anchor-less Producer Mobility in Content-Centric Networks (​ - Giovanna Carofiglio (25 min + questions)
  • Map-Me implementation in hICN and applications to next generation mobile networks - Jordan Augé (15 min + questions)
  • open source project - update on the consumer/producer socket API and HTTP support - Mauro Sardara (15 min)
  • PyCN-lite (for IoT, running MicroPython?), and PiCN (for NFN) - Christian Tschudin (15 min)
  • “Enabling Dynamic ICN Multicast in Cellular Radio Access” - Ravi Ravindran (15 min)
  • New draft: (based on Contrace): "CCNinfo: Discovering Content and Network Information in Content-Centric" : - Xun Shao (15 min)
  • New draft: "Requirements for Key Management in CCN/NDN” : - Ruidong Li (15 min)
  • Demo: "Deployment of ICN stacks and NDN in particular by leveraging NFV" - Guillaume Doyen (20 min) [Demo introduction and demo. The demo will also be shown at the end of the lunch break and at the afternoon coffee break.]

12:30-14:00 Lunch

17:00 Meeting ends (the latest)

Registration for ICNRG interim meeting

Please register for the interim meeting. We need the right number of attendees for ordering refreshments! You can register either by directly adding your name in the table below or by sending an email to the ICNRG chairs.

# Name Affiliation Email Arriving Departing Hotel Comments
1 Börje Ohlman Ericsson Research Borje dot Ohlman at ericsson dot com Saturday Wednesday Hilton London Metropole
2 Dirk Kutscher Huawei ietf at dkutscher dot net
3 Dave Oran Network Systems Research & Design daveoran at orandom dot net Thursday Friday Hilton London Metropole
4 Luca Muscariello Cisco lumuscar at cisco com
5 Giovanna Carofiglio Cisco gcarofig at cisco dot com
6 Jordan Augé Cisco augjorda at cisco dot com
7 Mauro Sardara Cisco msardara at cisco dot com
8 Marie-Jose Montpetit marie at mjmontpetit dot com Saturday Saturday+7 some Airbnb
9 Jeff Thompson UCLA jefft0 at remap dot ucla dot edu
10 Jan Seedorf HFT Stuttgart jan dot seedorf at hft-stuttgart dot de
11 Greg White CableLabs g dot white at cablelabs dot com
12 Ruidong Li NICT lrd at nict dot co dot jp Saturday Friday
13 Matthias Wählisch FU Berlin m.waehlisch at fu-berlin dot de
14 Thomas Schmidt HAW Hamburg at haw-hamburg dot de
15 Milan Stolic Cisco Systems mistolic at cisco dot com Hilton London Metropole
16 Christian Tschudin U of Basel christian.tschudin at unibas dot ch Hilton London Metropole
17 Paulo Mendes COPELABS / ULHT paujom70 at gmail dot com Sunday morning Tuesday evening Hilton London Metropole
18 Trinh Viet Doan TU Munich doan at in dot tum dot de Saturday afternoon Friday afternoon
19 Cenk Gündoğan HAW Hamburg cenk dot guendogan at haw-hamburg dot de
20 Peter Kietzmann HAW Hamburg peter dot kietzmann at haw-hamburg dot de
21 Jungha Hong ETRI jhong at etri dot re dot kr
22 Yong-Geun Hong ETRI yghong at etri dot re dot kr
23 Atsushi Tagami KDDI Research tagami at kddi-research dot org Sunday Thursday Hilton London Metropole
24 Guillaume Doyen UTT guillaume dot doyen at utt dot fr
25 Hoang Long MAI UTT hoang_long dot mai at utt dot fr
26 Konstantinos Katsaros Intracom S.A. Telecom Solutions konkat at intracom-telecom dot com
27 Bastiaan Wissingh TNO bastiaan dot wissingh at tno dot nl
28 Simon Slupik Silvair, Inc simon at silvair dot com
29 Yun Won Chung SSU ywchung at ssu dot ac dot kr
30 Younghan Kim SSU younghak at ssu dot ac dot kr
31 Cedric Westphal Huawei cedric dot westphal at huawei dot com
32 Ioannis Psaras UCL i.psaras at ucl dot ac dot uk
33 Onur Ascigil UCL o.ascigil at ucl dot ac dot uk
34 Michal Krol UCL m.krol at ucl dot ac dot uk
35 Sergi Rene UCL s.rene at ucl dot ac dot uk
36 Adrian-Christian Nicolaescu UCL adrian-cristian.nicolaescu.17 at ucl dot ac dot uk
37 Pete Maynard Queen's University Belfast p.maynard at qub dot ac dot uk Friday 16 Sunday 18 Attending Sunday and Hackathon
38 Yuki Koizumi Osaka University ykoizumi at ist dot osaka-u dot ac dot jp Friday 16 Sunday 18
39 Yoji Yamamoto Osaka University y-yamamoto at ist dot osaka-u dot ac dot jp Friday 16 Sunday 18
40 Kentaro Kita Osaka University k-kita at ist dot osaka-u dot ac dot jp Friday 16 Sunday 18
41 Eve Schooler Intel eve dot m dot schooler at intel dot com
42 Ravi Ravindran Huawei ravi dot ravindran at huawei dot com Saturday 17 Thursday 22 Hilton Metropole
x N N Affiliation nn at company dot com

ICNRG meeting @ IETF-101 London, UK, March 17-23, 2018

Regular meeting Agenda

Past ICNRG meetings

Here you can find agendas, meeting materials and minutes of all past ICNRG meetings: icnrg/pastmeetings

Related Events

Past events

Related RFCs

  • RFC 6920: Naming Things with Hashes

Related Information

Here we list ICN overview articles and tutorials:

(please contact us if there is something you think should be listed here)

Related Research Projects

(please contact us if you want to have your project listed here)

ICN evaluation tools and testbeds

Here you can find a listing of ICN evaluation tools and testbeds, please see IcnEvaluationAndTestbeds

Older Material

Older presentations, drafts that are not part of any meeting proceedings can be found in our archive.

Last modified 28 hours ago Last modified on Mar 20, 2018, 7:04:52 AM

Attachments (3)

Download all attachments as: .zip