wiki:October 11, 2021 - Embedded NLRI and Error Handling (CAR, Classful Transport))

Interim on October 11, 2021 - Embedded NLRI and Error Handling

Time: 10-12:30 EDT (7-9:30 PDT, 14:00-16:30 UTC, 10pm-12:30am Beijing]

Topic Description

New Color Aware routing proposals, classful transport routing protocol, and a number of BESS protocol additions for application networks propose new NLRIs which combine prefix + other information.

This information could be a route target, route distinguisher, a color, a EVPN identifier, or other information.

RFC7606 may not adequately cover the error handling in these new protocols. Scaling may be an issue with the embedded NLRI.

This interim proposes to provide a deep discussion point for new color aware proposals and any other drafts which propose new NLRIs.

This interim provides a time for in-depth proposals so that the IDR working group can consider adoption of these protocols and a central error handling draft.

Last modified 10 months ago Last modified on 10/09/21 15:04:12